San Diego EMP Board

Joining the Board

The call for new board members takes place once a year, at least four months before June. Current board members may nominate new board members but they must complete the application process. Potential candidates for Board positions shall apply by submitting resumes and letters of intent to the board. Board members are selected by a majority vote before the annual meeting of the Board (in June) to attend.

Send us an email at if you’re interested in applying!

Meet the Board

Programming & Events | Mikee Ferran

Membership & Stewardship | Emma Poggioli

Mikee Ferran began her journey into museums as a program assistant for the Smithsonian Museum on Main Street program at Utah Humanities in 2016. This experience (and an internship at a contemporary folk art museum) provided invaluable hands-on training in the museum field. She currently works as the Museum Exhibition and Visual Arts Supervisor at the California Center for the Arts, Escondido. Mikee is passionate about advocating for museums and the work that supports these institutions. Accessibility, transparency, and opportunity are the foundations of her personal work philosophy. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in History and a Master’s degree in American History. EMP Involvement: Programming Co-Chair 2019-2020.

Emma Poggioli is currently the Registrar/Administrative Assistant for the Balboa Art Conservation Center. After earning a MA in Public History at the University at Albany, she headed west. She visited Balboa Park her second day in San Diego, began volunteering with the San Diego History Center the following month and has been working in the Park ever since. Emma hopes to help encourage communication between fellow emerging museum professionals and San Diego’s cultural community. EMP Involvement: Stewardship Chair 2019-2020.

Past Board Members


Stephanie Malyn – Founder & President (2014-2016)
Brinker Ferguson – Communications Chair (2014-2015)
Shannon Fowler – Vice President (2016-2017), Programming Chair (2014-2016)
Erika Katayama – Outreach Chair (2014-2015)
Sandy McCann – Board Member (2014-2015)
Cory Woodall – Board Member (2014)
Dia Bassett– Treasurer (2016-2017)
Jasmine Chu – Programming Co-Chair (2016-2017)
Kristen Mihalko – President (2016-2018), Vice President (2014-2016)
Giovanna Anaya – Programs Co-Chair (2017-2018)
Sharleen Eusebio – Programs Co-Chair (2017-2018)
Rob Low – Stewardship Committee Member (2017-2018) 
Laura Lover
 – President (2019), Vice President (2018), Program Chair (2017), Secretary (2015-2016)
Tanya Aubin – Treasurer (2018-2019), Marketing/Programs Committee (2017-2018)
Sarah Luken – Vice President (2019), Programs Co-Chair (2018-2019)
Amanda Lopez– Communications Co-Chair (2016-2019)
Julia Falkowski– Communications Co-Chair (2016-2019)
Shira Bogin– Secretary (2018-2019), Stewardship Co-Chair (2017-2018)
Caitlin Wion – Stewardship Co-Chair (2018-2019), Secretary (2017-2018)
Kelsey Ceccareli  Communications Chair (2019-2020), Communications Committee (2018-2019)
Samantha Murphy  Stewardship Committee (2020)
Lucyna Poplawska – Communications Committee (2020)
Marisa NolenStewardship Committee (2018) Stewardship Co-Chair (2019) Secretary (2020)
Kaitlyn Sturgis-Jensen  Fiscal Sponsor Task Force (2018-2019), Treasurer/Development (2018-2020)
Sarah ConnerCommunications Chair (2020)
Emily TiptonProgramming Co-Chair (2020)